European Tensor Network

Tensor networks provide a new paradigm for describing quantum many body systems. Since the early years of quantum mechanics, the quantum many body problem has been one of the main driving forces in theoretical physics. In recent years, a lot of progress has been made in unraveling the entanglement structure of correlated systems, which resulted in the study of quantum tensor networks which model the entanglement degrees by local tensors. This had led to the development of new numerical methods for simulating complex quantum systems and of new analytic tools for classifying entangled and topological phases of matter.

Europe has been at the center of this development, and many groups have since the last decade been building up expertise in the various aspects of tensor networks, including the development of novel numerical and analytical approaches and in applying tensor networks to model experiments in atomic physics and condensed matter. Giving the rapid growth of the field, there is a strong incentive to build up a European network in which students and researchers can meet and exchange knowledge. To this end, a yearly school will be held for the new students in which the main facets of quantum tensor networks will be discussed and where they can build up contacts and a research network. This school will be held in alternating research institutes.


Natalia Chepiga, Technical University Delft
Philippe Corboz, University of Amsterdam
Jan von Delft
, University of Munich
Jens Eisert, Free University Berlin
Artur Garcia Saez, Barcelona Superconducting Center
Andrej Gendiar,  Slovak Academy of Sciences, Bratislava
Andrew Green, University College London
Jutho Haegeman, Ghent University
Fabian Heidrich Meisner, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Christoph Karrasch, Technical University Braunschweig
Dante M. Kennes, RWTH Aachen
Corinna Kollath, University of Bonn
Andreas Läuchli, University of Innsbruck
Maciej Lewenstein, The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona
Ors Legeza, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest
Christian Mendl, Technical University Dresden
Frank Pollmann
, Technical University of Munich
Simone Montangero, University of Ulm
Roman Orus, University of Mainz
Tobias J. Osborne, University of Hanover
David Perez Garcia, University of Madrid
Didier Poilblanc, Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse
Cecile Repellin, CNRS Grenoble
Nicolas Regnault, Ecole Normale Superieure
Juan José García Ripoll, Instituto de Fisica Fundamental, Madrid
Norbert Schuch, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Munich
Germán Sierra, Instituto de Física Teórica, Madrid
Ulrich Schollwöck, University of Munich

Luca Tagliacozzo, Instituto de Fisica Fundamental, CSIC, Madrid
Hong-Hao Tu, Technical University Dresden
Laurens Vanderstraeten, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Frank Verstraete,  Ghent University
Michael M. Wolf, Technical University of Munich

Contact: Frank Pollmann, Technical University of Munich, 85748 Garching, admin(at)quantumtensor(dot)eu.